Telling it like it is: Watch Hon Docs deliver Convocation addresses

Extra! Extra!

Watch the Honorary Doctorate addresses from this year’s Convocation ceremonies. Updated daily.

McGill to award 16 honorary degrees


Two Nobel prize winners, John O’Keefe (Medicine, 2014) and Daniel Kahneman (Economic Sciences, 2002), along with the Right Honourable Joe Clark, distinguished poets Lorna Crozier and Patrick Lane, astrophysicist Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell and L. Jacques Ménard, a lifelong advocate of the importance of education for all, will be among 16 individuals to receive Honorary Degrees from McGill in the upcoming spring Convocation.

Nobel winner has very fond memories of McGill


Earlier this week, fifty years after completing his Master’s at McGill and beginning his PhD in physiological psychology here, John O’Keefe was named co-winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in medicine. In an exclusive interview with the Reporter, O’Keefe remembers his time at McGill as “an incredibly exciting time.”

McGill graduate John O’Keefe wins Nobel Prize in medicine

Headline News

McGill alumnus John O’Keefe was named co-winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in medicine, for his contribution to the discovery of cells that constitute the brain’s ‘inner GPS,’ which makes it possible to orient ourselves in space. O’Keefe, who received his doctorate in physiological psychology from McGill in 1967, is director of the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre in Neural Circuits and Behaviour at University College London.