Your input needed in search for new Dean of Music

Posted on Tuesday, October 27, 2015

The following is a communiqué addressed to the McGill community from Professor Christopher Manfredi, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic).

Dear Colleagues,

In accordance with the University Statutes, an Advisory Committee has been struck for the selection of a new Dean of the Schulich School of Music. The composition of the Committee, which the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) chairs, is as follows:

Faculty Representatives:

  • Professor Hank Knox
  • Professor Hans-Ola Ericcson
  • Professor Julie Cumming
  • Professor Stephen McAdams

Senate Representatives:

  • Professor Genevieve Gore
  • Professor Omar Toulan
  • Professor Sasha Omanovic
  • Professor Victor Muniz-Fraticelli

Board of Governors Representatives:

  • Ms. Tina Hobday
  • Ms Elizabeth Wirth

Student Representatives:

  • Julie Choi, SSMU Representative
  • Allison O’Brien, SSMU Representative
  • TBD, PGSS Representative


  • Mr. Stephen Strople, Secretary-General

The University has engaged the firm of Janet Wright & Associates to provide executive search services and support to the committee.

In order to assist its deliberations, the Advisory Committee welcomes any comments or advice on the issues and challenges facing the Faculty/Dean over the next 5-10 years. In addition, the Committee invites nominations or applications for the position of Dean of the Schulich School of Music from members of the McGill community.

Alternatively, if you wish to write directly to the Chair of the Committee, all comments and suggestions will be treated in the strictest confidence by the Committee and should be addressed, in writing, to Professor Christopher Manfredi, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Dean of the Schulich School of Music, c/o Secretary-General, Secretariat: James Administration Building, 845 Sherbrooke Street West, Room 313, Montreal, QC H3A 0G4, or by e-mail to:

With best regards,

Professor Christopher Manfredi, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)


Share this article

Category: Blog

Post a Comment

  1. You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>