Bravo! McGill celebrates top researchers

Posted on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
A collection of some of McGill's top researchers at the Bravo event on March 13. See below for the full list of names. / Photo: Owen Egan

A collection of some of McGill’s top researchers at the Bravo event on March 13. See below for the full list of names. / Photo: Owen Egan










By Meaghan Thurston

On March 13, McGill honoured over 50 winners of major provincial, national and international prizes and awards at a public gala – an event known as Bravo – at the Omni Hotel in Montreal. The annual celebration of excellence in research and scholarship recognizes University researchers from across a full range of disciplines, who received notable prizes and awards during the previous year.

“While the primary purpose of the night is to celebrate the laureates, of course, there is another raison d’être for Bravo –and that is to bring people together in order to connect, share ideas, and form collaborations,” said McGill’s Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations), Dr. Rose Goldstein.

Principal and Vice-Chancellor Suzanne Fortier attended the event and personally congratulated the awardees. Among those honoured were Nahum Sonenburg for the McLaughlin Medal (Royal Society of Canada) and Victoria Kaspi for the Peter G. Martin Award (The Canadian Astronomical Society), as well as Frederick Andermann for the National Order of Quebec, and Michel Tremblay and Phil Gold for the Prix du Quebec.

More than a dozen researchers and their teams exhibited posters, including Dr. Alan Evans of the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital, recipient of the Top Discoveries of the Year honour from Québec Sciénce Magazine, on the Big Brain Project, an ultrahigh-resolution 3D human brain model; and Professor Andrew Piper of the Faculty of Arts, winner of the New Directions Fellowship from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, on “Global Currents: Cultures of Literary Networks (1050-1900).”

View a complete list of awardees here.

Click on the image to enlarge it.

Back row, from left to right:

Alan Evans, Faculty of Medicine; Ernesto Schiffrin, Faculty of Medicine; George Thanassoulis, Faculty of Medicine; Phil Gold, Faculty of Medicine; Nahum Sonenberg, Faculty of Medicine; Vassilios Papadopoulos, Faculty of Medicine; Roussos Dimitrakopoulos, Faculty of Engineering; Andrew Piper, Faculty of Arts; Jens C. Pruessner, Faculty of Medicine; In-Ho Jung, Faculty of Engineering; Derek G. Gray, Faculty of Science; Victoria Kaspi, Faculty of Science; Michel Tremblay, Faculty of Medicine; David Plant, Faculty of Engineering; Moshe Szyf, Faculty of Medicine; Prakash Panangaden, Faculty of Science; Céline Le Bourdais, Faculty of Arts; Rosie Goldstein, Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations); Sarah Stroud, Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations).

Front row, from left to right:

Suzanne Fortier, Principal and Vice-Chancellor; Isabelle Daunais, Faculty of Arts; Yashar Hezaveh, Faculty of Science; Leon Glass, Faculty of Medicine; Chris Buddle, Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Nitika Pant Pai, Faculty of Medicine; Michael Pollock, Faculty of Medicine; Mark Eisenberg, Faculty of Medicine; Jeffrey Mogil, Faculty of Science; Robert Zatorre, Faculty of Medicine; Peter Enright, Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Frederick Andermann, Faculty of Medicine; Mariana Newkirk, Faculty of Medicine; Lynne McVey, Ingram School of Nursing.




Share this article

Category: Other News

2 Responses to Bravo! McGill celebrates top researchers

  1. Tom Fletcher says:

    Congratulations, Roussos. Hard to believe I actually know someone on this list of dignitaries!

    Tom Fletcher

  2. John Holton says:

    Congratulations Dr. Andermann! Of course we think every award in the world should got to you. All the best!

    Johnny, John and Sandra

Post a Comment

  1. You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>