Chairs Galore

Posted on Friday, October 30, 2009

In September and November 2007, Jim Prentice, the Canadian Minister of Industry announced the appointment of nine McGill University professors to the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program:


  • Tho Le-Ngoc, broadband access communications
  • Stéphanie Lehoux, cardiovascular physiology
  • Gergely Lukacs, molecular and cellular biology of cystic fibrosis and other conformational diseases
  • Salah El Mestikawy, neurobiology
  • Audrey Moores, green chemistry
  • Vassilios Papadopoulos, biochemical pharmacology
  • Thomas Quinn, soft tissue biophysics
  • Amir Raz, cognitive neuroscience of attention
  • Barbara Sherwin, hormones, brain and cognition

Seven McGill CRCs were renewed:

  • Jorge L. Armony, affective neuroscience
  • Michel Biron, Québécois and francophone literature
  • Derek Bowie, receptor pharmacology
  • Sylvain Coulombe, non-thermal plasma processing
  • Elaine C. Davis, anatomy and cell biology
  • Stephen M. Saideman, international security and ethnic conflict
  • Thomas Schlich, history of medicine

The 16 CRCs have a value of $13.4-million. The Canada Foundation for Innovation will also invest over $2-million in infrastructure essential to the work done by the nine new Chairs. The Government of Canada created the CRC program in 2000; the program’s goal is to help make Canada one of the world’s top five countries for research and development by establishing 2,000 research professorships by 2008.

Share this article

Category: Research


Comments are closed.