August 2016

Clotilde Degroot, who coined the winning name for The Neuro’s Biobank: NeurO C-BIGR, or The Neuro OpenScience Clinical Biologic Imaging and Genetic Repository. Clotilde, who is the coordinator of the Quebec Parkinson Network, which is headquartered at The Neuro, will receive a $500 prize. The NeurO C-BIGR will play a central role in The Neuro’s […]

July 2016

Dr. Jean-Pierre Farmer, who won the Prix d’excellence 2016 from the Collège des médecins du Québec for his outstanding contributions to neurosurgery. Read more about this great honour. Dr. Mirko Diksic, who was elected a Corresponding Member of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts (HAZU), on May 12, 2016. Dr. Barbara E. Jones, who […]

May 2016

BrainReach Awarded First Prize by the CAN Advocacy Committee for Outreach! The IPN would like to congratulate the BrainReach team for winning the Canadian Association of Neuroscience Advocacy Committee Award for “best student initiative promoting neuroscience to the public”. As the CAN Advocacy Committee wrote, the Committee “was especially impressed by your level of organization, […]

March 2016

Dr. Guiomar Niso, a postdoctoral fellow with Sylvain Baillet in the McConnell Brain Imaging Centre got a cover story in the bulletin of Madrid’s Polytechnic University. Learn more (see pages 8-11)

February 2016

Dr. Anne-Louise Lafontaine appointed Chief of Neurology at MUHC Dr. Anne-Louise Lafontaine has been appointed Chief of the department of Neurology of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) after having served as Interim Chief since November 2014. Her four-year term started on November 2, 2015. Dr. Lafontaine is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of […]

December 2015

Brenda Milner – received an honorary degree from Rockefeller University. Edward Ruthazer – received a 2015 FRQ-S Research Chair. Eugene Bereza – elected President of the Canadian Bioethics Society and appointed to the MSSS Groupe de travail interdisciplinaire sur l’aide médicale à mourir. Edward Fon – elected to the American Academy of Clinical Investigation. Rolando […]

August 2015

Louise Fabiani, freelance writer, for her article, The Montreal Neurological Hospital which was published in the online journal Hektoen International, a journal of medical humanities.  Louise’s article was selected as a finalist for the Grand Prize Essay competition.  Read more   Professors Sylvain Baillet and Matt Kinsella who won the first Biomedical Engineering Collaborative Research […]

July 2015

Catherine-Anne Miller, CNS, Brain Tumour Program, was honored with the Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada 2015 Award for Excellence in Neuroscience Nursing at the recent Canadian Association of Neuroscience Nursing Conference in Newfoundland. Catherine-Anne was also selected to receive the 2014-2015 Ingram School of Nursing Award for Excellence in Preceptorship/Advising for the course NUR2 624. […]

May 2015

National Nursing Week – Celebrating Excellence The annual Neuroscience Nursing Awards of Excellence Ceremony took place on Tuesday as part of National Nursing Week. The event was a wonderful showcase of dedication, spirit, determination, strength, compassion and innovation. It was an opportunity to pause and celebrate nurses and others who have gone above and beyond […]

April 2015

Edward Fon – elected to the American Academy of Clinical Investigation Dr. Ted Fon was one of 3 clinicians from Canadian institutions elected this year to the American Academy of Clinical Investigation (ASCI).  Dr. Fon becomes only the seventh physician from McGill to become a member.  The induction ceremony will be in Chicago April 24 […]