April 2018

  Double Distinction for Stuart Trenholm Congratulations to Stuart Trenholm, researcher and assistant professor who studies the neuronal circuits that make vision possible, received the Career Development Award from The International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSPO). Trenholm is the only Canadian recipient of this award this year. Trenholm was also selected as a 2018 […]

March 2018

    Congratulations to the A Brilliant Night Honorary and Organizing Committee 2016, supported by Wendy Sculnick, Partnerships and Special Events Officer at The Neuro, for winning silver in the CASE District I Awards in the Special Events category. The annual awards honour individuals and schools for producing innovative work in the area of fundraising. […]

December 2017

  Dr. Alan Evans, who received a Canada 150 medal from the Senate of Canada for his commitment to advancements in Alzheimer’s disease and palliative care research. Evans was nominated by Senator Judith Seidman, a former research fellow at the MNI, and Associate Professor of the McGill School of Social Work. Learn more!     Dr. […]

November 2017

  Dr. Julien Doyon, who was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in September 2017. Election to the academies of the Royal Society of Canada is the highest honour that a scholar can achieve in the Arts, Humanities, and Sciences. Dr. Doyon came to The Neuro from the Université de Montréal, and […]

September 2017

  Mari Jo Pires and Nicole Savoie, who have been unanimously elected by the members of the Neuro’s Users’ Committee to be the new co-chairs. They are both extremely capable individuals who are wholeheartedly involved with the Neuro.     Neuro researchers Dr. Louis Collins and Dr. Austen Milnerwood are among scientists to receive grants […]

August 2017

  Zhen-Yi Andy Ou, (mentored by Dr. Madeleine Sharp) recipient of a $4,000 Parkinson’s Foundation APDA Summer Student Fellowship, for his project, Effect of Levodopa on the Consolidation of Learning in People with PD. Read more.     Dr. Fraser Moore, winner of McGill University’s prestigious Osler Award, for his outstanding contributions to medical education. […]

July 2017

Dr. Emily Beatrice Jane Coffey, Department of Integrated Program in Neuroscience, winner of the 2017 Prix d’excellence de l’Association des doyens des études supérieures au Québec (ADESAQ), for her outstanding doctoral dissertation entitled: Periodic sound encoding in the human auditory system: variability and plasticity.

June 2017

Adrian Duszkiewicz, postdoctoral researcher in the Peyrache Lab, who was awarded a Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellowship for his project, “Functional dissection of the head-direction system”. The aim of the project is to uncover the functional connectivity of the head-direction system, the brain’s ‘compass’. Ms. Eileen “Beany” Peterson, recipient of the 2017 Anne Galler Award […]

May 2017

Our dedicated volunteers! Learn more about them.   Pam and Dr. Rolando Del Maestro, for their recognition at the 2017 Ontario Volunteer Service Awards in honour of being two of the three founders of the Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada and for helping the Foundation reach its goals for over 35 years.   All of […]

March 2017

Dr. Boris Bernhardt, winner of the Michael Prize 2017, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to research promoting further developments in epileptology. The 2017 Michael Prize and 20.000 Euro fund, will be officially awarded at the International Epilepsy Congress in Barcelona in September 2017, where Dr. Bernhardt will present a lecture. Emily Coffey, PhD student with Dr. […]