Congratulations to …

August 2016

Clotilde Degroot, who coined the winning name for The Neuro’s Biobank: NeurO C-BIGR, or The Neuro OpenScience Clinical Biologic Imaging and Genetic Repository. Clotilde, who is the coordinator of the Quebec Parkinson Network, which is headquartered at The Neuro, will receive a $500 prize. The NeurO C-BIGR will play a central role in The Neuro’s Open Science Initiative. In addition, it invokes Dr. Penfield’s original vision for The Neuro, where patients are individually empowered by being offered the opportunity to participate in research that will advance our understanding of patients with neurological disease – and ultimately impact treatment.

Amit Bar-Or, MD, FRCPC, FAAN, FANA, who was invited to give the Annual T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture on October 21, 2016, in Seattle, Washington.

The T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience at Virginia Mason was established in 2000 by Ann Pigott Wyckoff in honor of her late husband, Theodore Evans Wyckoff. The lectureship is the Neuroscience Institute’s premiere annual event, featuring internationally-renowned physicians and researchers in the field of neuroscience.

Oliver Lasry, who won a Killam Prize for the best paper presentation on Fellows’ Day. Lasry is a Neurosurgery Resident, working on a PhD in Epidemiology.

Sylvain Baillet, who received an NSERC Research Technology and Instrumentation grant to overhaul the local high-performance computing resources made available to brain-imaging researchers from The Neuro, and their partners. He also won a Compute Canada Research Platform and Portals (RPP) grant to provide considerable in-the-cloud storage for The Neuro Brain Imaging Centre brain imaging data, which is shared with partners.

Patricia O’Connor, former Associate Director of Nursing (Neuroscience) at The Neuro, who won the Prix Florence in nursing. Learn more about her and her work, in her own words.

Speak Your Mind