Bielby and Daoust named McGill athletes of the year at awards gala

Posted on Friday, April 12, 2013

From left to right: Melodie Daoust, Ali Hendren, Simon Bibeau, Mariam Sylla, Sarah McCuaig, Shaquille Johnson, Steven Bielby. / Photo: Victor Tangermann

By Earl Zukerman

Swimmer Steven Bielby of Pointe Claire, Que., and hockey player Melodie Daoust of Valleyfield, Que., were named male and female athletes of the year, respectively, at the 36th annual McGill varsity sports awards gala, held at the Holiday Inn Midtown, Thursday evening.

Bielby, a fifth-year engineering senior, and Daoust, a physical education sophomore, received the Stuart Forbes and Gladys Bean trophies, respectively, as the student-athletes who brought the most credit to the University by reason of their athletic achievements. Both were also announced as their respective Team MVPs.

Bielby, an Academic All-Canadian who became the most decorated swimmer in school history, also took home the Richard Pound Trophy, awarded to a graduating male athlete for proficiency and leadership in athletics. A two-time winner of the Forbes, he becomes only the second athlete in school history to capture both the Forbes and Pound trophies in the same season, joining Ryan Tomicic, another swimmer from Pte. Claire, who accomplished the feat in 2006-07.

Sarah McCuaig of Waterloo, Ont., an all-conference track and cross-country runner who will be heading overseas to the University of Oxford on a Rhodes scholarship next fall, captured the Muriel V. Roscoe Trophy, awarded to a graduating female athlete for proficiency and leadership.

Simon Bibeau, an all-star guard on the men’s basketball team from St. Bruno, Que., received the Dr. Mac Teskey trophy, presented when warranted, to an individual who has overcome significant adversity to serve as an inspiration to others.

Alexander Rohrbach, an attacker on the men’s national champion lacrosse team who hails from West Windsor, N.J., was awarded the Uldis Auders memorial trophy as the top sophomore in any sport, who best combines academics with athletics.

A pair of all-Canadian freshmen – football receiver Shaquille Johnson of Brampton, Ont., and basketball forward Mariam Sylla, a native of Conakry, Guinea – were named as the McGill rookies of the year.

The basketball Redmen, which finished fifth at nationals and posted a 24-10 record overall, received the Martlet Foundation trophy as the varsity team of the year in a CIS-sanctioned sport.

The lacrosse Redmen, who registered a 12-2-1 overall record and captured their first-ever national championship, took home the Harry Griffiths trophy, awarded to the top team in a non-CIS sport.

Ali Hendren, a member of the women’s basketball team support staff, was presented with the Teddy Award, which goes to a student volunteer who contributes significantly to the success and support of McGill varsity athletics.

Andre Corbeil, a CTV Montreal reporter and anchor who hails from Timmins, Ont., was presented with the McGill-Concordia Media Award for his wide-spread coverage of local university sports.

Finally, tribute was also paid to McGill’s 72 league all-stars, 10 CIS all-Canadians and seven conference championships won during the 2012-13 intercollegiate season. In addition, commemorative plaques were presented to the MVPs of 28 varsity teams.

Share this article

Category: Athletics

Post a Comment

  1. You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>