Law’s Macdonald among new Order of Canada recipients

Posted on Thursday, January 3, 2013

McGill Law professor Roderick Macdonald heads the most recent list of McGillians honoured with Order of Canada appointments. Macdonald was one of 33 Canadians named Officers of the Order on December 30, 2012. In all, 91 Canadians received new appointments, including Companions Louise Charron and L. Jacques Ménard.

McGill graduates Rosemary Sullivan and Ken Dryden joined Macdonald as Officers of the Order. Graduates Jagannath Wani, Heather Maxine Reisman, Warren T. Blume were named Members of the Order, along with Lorraine Desmarais, who studied music at McGill from 1978-79, and former teacher Beverley Diamond.

The Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to community and service to the nation. Over the last 45 years, more than 5 000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

For the complete list of the latest Order of Canada recipients, click here.



Share this article

Category: Blog

4 Responses to Law’s Macdonald among new Order of Canada recipients

  1. Peter F. McNally says:

    “The Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours…”

    Surely the Order of Canada is the country’s highest civilian hounour! Can you mention a “higher” Canadian civilian honour?


    P F McNally

  2. REgards5 says:

    my wholly inspiring human being

  3. REgards5 says:

    to Rod Macdonald, with gratitude-

    You have inspired me to be the best person I ever could be.

    Believe me, dear Sir.

    MT, and my Family

  4. Aldie MacEachern says:

    Congratulations on receiving the Order of Canada! It seems like only yesterday that we were paddling together in the Stinson Canoe race in Minden.

Post a Comment

  1. You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>